Train Station History
Coraopolis first appeared on the map as Middletown, a station on the P&LE Railroad. Located on the Ohio River between McKees Rocks and Monaca, Coraopolis has long-running ties with Montour Railroad, P&LE Railroad, and CSX. Montour Railroad maintained a hub with shops to work on the engines and cars. The historic Coraopolis Train Station, built by H.H. Richardson, stands as a testament to Coraopolis' proud railroad history.
CORAOPOLIS TRAIN STATION
Pittsburgh & lake erie station number 70054
- March 1, 1895 – “It was also stated that the company is also soon to begin work on a new station at Coraopolis, plans for which have also been approved, and await the order from the heads of the road to begin construction. It is to be a commodious, cozy structure, and will harmonize with other stations of recent date built on the line.” (Pittsburgh Daily Post, March 1, 1895)
- Sept 27, 1895 – architectural plans drawn up for Coraopolis Station Building
- December 21, 1895 – architectural ‘details of finish in Coraopolis Station’ drawn up
- July 12, 1896 (Pittsburgh Daily Post) – “fine new station building at Coraopolis... improvements on the Pittsburgh & Lake Erie… The grounds in the vicinity of the new depot at Coraopolis are being graded and flower beds are being planted and the sidewalks are to be neatly paved. In addition to the above improvements many miles of new steel rails have been laid along the line.” The current Coraopolis Train Station was built in the “Richardson Romanesque” style and designed by Shepley, Rutan and Coolidge– the successors of Henry Hobson Richardson. Richardson is generally regarded as one of the great architects in American history. For more information, click here.
- November 24, 1899 (The Daily Republican) – "The new [Monessen Station] will be of the handsome Pittsburg & Lake Erie standard, like the Beaver and Coraopolis stations, with cut stone and pressed brick walls and a neat and capacious sodded lawn.”
- October 16, 1901 – plans drawn up for proposed changes at Coraopolis Station
- In 1902, a second building is erected
- June 25, 1907 – plans for “design showing proposed undercrossing at Coraopolis Station” indicated that on this date the plans were “corrected as constructed”, so presumably the undercrossing was constructed by this date. The earliest date (crossed off) appearing on this plan is November 19, 1906.
- In the 1970s, the station became an auto parts store
- The station was added to the National Register of Historic Places on April 20, 1979